In my experience of the installation, at first the breath and depth of hand motion required to influence the audio was unclear, but after a couple of iterations, I was able to adapt my movements accordingly. Although the description mentioned multiple sound sources, it seemed possible only to manipulate a single broadband noise source. The artist makes references to "sonification" and "physical cognition" in the description, but it was difficult to determine the extent to which this project has introduced innovations to the existing collection of Leap Motion-controlled sound synthesis applications.

ICMC2018 Awards

ICMA Music Awards

The Regional Award for the Americas went to Chi Wang, University of Oregon, for *Peony Garden* for live electronics. Jury motivation: "For its unique way of using the Wiimote for sonic transformations. The Regional Award for Asia/Oceania went to Jaeyoung Park, for *Dysthymia*, a computer-aided acoustic composition. Jury motivation: "For its adoption of a structured process to reflect the composer's perspective as an observer, mixing synthesized and recorded sounds."

The Regional Award for Europe went to Andreas Weixler and Se-Lien Chuang, Bruckner Anton University and Atelier Avant Austria, for Sonic Environment Daegu, a piece for ensemble and electronics. Jury motivation: "For its strong balance of creative control and multiple devices in a multimedia performance. The Student Award went to Anne Veinberg, Leiden University, for CodeKlavier 'hello world', a piece+paper contribution. Jury motivation: "For it contributes to instrument performance with a good-humoured mix of pianisms and live coding." The Audience Award was not given.

Jury Music Awards: Dr. Miriam Akkermann, Mr. Patrick Gunawan Hartono (Audience Award 2017), Dr. Choi Insook, Dr. Taehi KIm (ICMC Music Chair), Dr. PerMagnus Lindborg (ICMA Music Coordinator / Chair ICMC2018), and Dr. Cort Lippe.

ICMA Paper Awards

The best **Paper Award** went to **Marta Gentilucci** for the paper "Vocal Distortion and Real-time Processing of Roughness".

Jury Paper Award: Dr. Christopher Haworth (Research Coordinator ICMA), Dr. Arshia Cont, Dr. Stefania Serafin.